The Market Harborough Historical Society held its first meeting in 1931 (as Market Harborough Historical and Archaeological Society). The first recorded object given to the Society was an engraving of the town, presented by Mr Harris in 1932.
The Society’s growing collection was displayed in Welland House in The Square where it remained until 1939. In 1983 the Society opened Harborough Museum in partnership with Harborough District Council and Leicestershire County Council.
There are dedicated displays in the museum showcasing antiquities and curiosities of the Harborough Historical Society collection. Some of the objects on display include Ancient Egyptian pottery, a Mastodon tooth and the evocative drummer boy’s jacket of the Market Harborough Volunteers, 1806